Straight and sensible reasons why I am an atheist – The quotes way

There are hundreds of great atheism quotes out there. Like most skillful turns of phrase, they allsoundgood. But there are many Idisagreewith, for example “All thinking men are atheists” (Ernest Hemmingway).But these are the ones that strike me most deeply right now.

1.When   you   understand  why   you   dismiss   all  the   other   possible   gods,   you  will understandwhy I dismiss yours.

Stephen  Roberts

2.When I was a kid I had an  imaginary  friend and I used to think that he went everywhere with me, and that I could talk to him and that he could hearme, and that he could grant me wishes and stuff. And then I grew up, and I stopped going to church.

Jimmy Carr
3.Believe nothing,No matter where you read it,Or who has said it,Not even if I have said it,Unless it agrees with your own reasonAnd your own common sense.
Buddha

4.To understand via the heart is not to understand.

Michel de Montaigne
5.I don’t know if God exists, but it would be better for His reputation if He didn’t.

Jules Renard
6.Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day; teach a man to fish and he will eat for a lifetime; give a man religion and he will die praying for a fish.
Anonymous

7.Do not pass by my epitaph, traveler.But having stopped, listen and learn, then go yourway.There is no boat in Hades, no ferryman Charon,No caretaker Aiakos, no dog Cerberus.All we who are dead belowHave become bones and ashes, but nothing else.I have spoken to you honestly, go on, traveler,Lest even while dead I seem talkative to you.

Ancient Roman tombstone
8.An atheist doesn’t have to be someone who thinks he has a proof that there can’t be a god. Heonly has to be someone who believes that the evidence on the God question is at a similar level to the evidence on the werewolf question.

John McCarthy

9.Men never commit evil so fully and joyfully as when they do it for religious convictions.

Blaise Pascal

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

